Georgia DUI Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Attention Georgia drivers: did you know that there are certain procedures that you are expected to follow if you are involved in any type of auto accident? What’s more, if you fail to follow these guidelines, you could face criminal charges for leaving the scene of an accident—and if you are also charged with driving under the influence (DUI), the penalties will be even harsher.
State law divides auto accidents into three different categories: property damage, bodily injury, and death. As you can probably guess, accidents that involve only vehicle damage fall into the property damage category, while the other two categories (bodily injury and death) apply to wrecks that result in a person’s injury or death.
You Must Give Out Your Insurance Information
Regardless of the type of accident you are involved in, you are legally required to stop and share your contact and insurance information with any other parties involved. If the accident involves an unoccupied vehicle and—after making a reasonable effort—you are unable to locate the owner, you must then leave a note with your information on it in order to avoid being charged with leaving the scene of an accident.
If you are involved in an accident that results in another person’s injury, the law also requires you to provide aid and/or contact the police or paramedics for help. Likewise, if you are in a wreck that has fatalities, you must stop and call for help. Leaving the scene of the accident at any time could result in felony charges for hit and run.
As a felony offense, the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are quite severe, and typically include a large fine, license suspension, and possible jail time. However, if you were under the influence of alcohol at the time of the accident, you will also face separate charges for DUI.
The Fines Involved with a First Offense DUI
In Georgia, even a first drunk driving conviction carries a fine of $300 to $1,000, as well as a one-year license suspension, and a mandatory jail sentence—and these penalties increase substantially with each subsequent conviction.
If you were recently charged with DUI after leaving the scene of an accident in Georgia, it is important to obtain legal representation immediately. With the right attorney, you may be able to prove that you did not cause the accident and, as such, avoid the life-altering consequences of a DUI hit and run conviction.
To discuss your case with one of the most experienced DUI defense attorneys in the state, complete our online form to connect with Greg Willis, a partner at HTW&W. As an exclusive DUI defense attorney, Greg Willis is well-versed in strategies for challenging a DUI arrest and, over the years, he and his team have helped countless drivers get their charges reduced or dismissed—to improve your chances of obtaining a similar outcome in Georgia DUI court, contact Greg Willis today.